Mary and Max

Mary-and-Max

Mary and Max  (2009)

Storyline: The film tells the story of 8-year old Mary Daisy Dinkle from Australia and her unlike, 44-year old, pen pal from America, Max Horowitz. Over the years, they develop a deep friendship (and eat a lot of chocolate bars).

Actors: Toni Collette, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Eric Bana

My review: You HAVE to see this film. It’s absolutely brilliant. It made me laugh loads, cry a little bit and it seems like the 1,5 hours are over in no time. The idea is really cute and I actually liked the way it was made with modelling clay because that gave it this touch which I think wouldn’t have been there with “real” people. There was one thing that kind of annoyed me a little bit with the modelling clay were the movements of their mouths when they ate, it ooked a bit freaky. The characters are very interesting and the narrator and Max have got really good voices. I loved Mary’s voice when she was a child, but I didn’t think her grown-up voice was that good. At the start I was a bit afraid that I wouldn’t understand it that well because of the australian accents, but that was no problem at all. The end is sad, but not in a “can’t-stop-crying-an-hour-after-I’ve-finished-the-film” way. I definitely recommend this film. I think I’m going to have to change my favourite film on the “About”-Site 😉 .

Something I love about this film: The poems on the gravestones. One of the funniest things I’ve ever read.

My stars:

Humor: 7/10

Love: 7/10

Action: 0.5/10

In All: 9/10

Leave a Reply

