Some Like It Hot

some like it hot

Some Like It Hot  (1959)

Storyline: When the two musicians Joe (sax) and Jerry (bass fiddle) witness a mass-murder, they have to flee, so they decide to go to Florida with an all-girls-band. To do that, they have to turn into Josephine and Daphne. But it isn’t always easy for two guys on an all-girls-trip.

Actors: Marilyn Monroe, Jack Lemmon, Tony Curtis

My review: I had heard about this film quite a few a few times and also that it was very good (8.4 on IMDb), but last night I finally decided to watch it. And I was not disappointed.

Jack Lemmon and Tony Curtis delivered very “convincing” pictures of women ;). Jack did his female-voice himself, but Tony had his dubbed.

I read that Marilyn Monroe took 47 takes to get “It’s me, Sugar” right and 59 to say “Where’s the bourbon?”. Well, as she says in the film, she isn’t very bright, I guess.

Whoops, I’m beating around the bush here a little… I have barely any complaints and I didn’t even notice that it was two hours long. To sum it up: The film is full of hilarious quotes, funny characters and the story is brilliant which makes it very enjoyable and funny, one of the must-watches of the last century.

Something I love about this film: Shell Oil, hahaha xD and soo many other things, I can’t even list all of them

My stars:

Humor: 8/10

Love: 7/10

Action: 6/10

In All: 8.5/10

1001 MOVIES YOU MUST SEE BEFORE YOU DIE

Leave a Reply

