Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

hp6

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince  (2009)

This post may contain several severe spoilers so do not read if you haven’t read the book/ haven’t seen the film/ don’t want to do either of those, I recommend not to go on reading 😉 .

Storyline: A new professor has come to Hogwarts, Horace Slughorn. He had taught potions to many students, including Harry’s mother and Tom Riddle. To whom, Harry finds out, he told something he probably should have kept to himself.

Actors: Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint

My review: Oh man, I always have to cry with Draco because I think it’s so sad…

And why on earth is it called the Half-Blood Prince?! Maybe it makes more sense in the book, but in the film it seems like the whole thing with the potions and the half-blood prince is more a kind of side feature.

I know I’m totally spoiling the whole film right now, but I didn’t like the part where Dumbledore and Harry went to look for the Horcruxes because it was quite far to the end where you didn’t really expect a lot more to happen.

All of a sudden Cho disappears into thin air and isn’t even seen in the background every now and then and Harry notices that he actually fancies Ginny, like, way more. This one is funnier than the fifth and -of course- there’s also more love, but I actually did prefer the fifth because I think the plot is better. Oh, and Neville also didn’t turn up at all… That’s it, I haven’t really got more to say.

Something I love about this film: The way the word “poof” (as in “vanished”) can be so… emotional. That scene makes me smile and cry at the same time.

My stars:

Humor: 5/10

Love: 6/10

Action: 4/10

Horror: 1/10

In All: 7.5/10

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

  1. I read this book like a week before seeing the film in cinema and at first I was realy disappointed. The book is so much better. The fighting scene in the end is so much better described in the book than in it was in film. I was like “was that it?” But the end is soo sad. And that ‘poof’ indeed is both funny as sad, because of what slughorn tells next..

Leave a Reply

