How I Ruined 9 Beautiful Seasons

If you have not seen the last episode of How I Met Your Mother, don’t read this or your life is over…
I have not got any self-control. So after I had seen like two episodes of the ninth season, I checked what happens in the final. Then I felt so bad I had to watch it.
I don’t know what to say. I laughed when watching, as if it was just some normal himym episode, but I (of course) cried… The first thing that annoyed me, was that you couldn’t really “get used” to Tracy (the mom), because she and Ted only seemed to be together for such a short time although it wasn’t that short. When I first read that Barney and Robin were getting divorced I was totally horrified. Then I read Tracy dies and I was like:”Why?! WHY?!”. When I finally read that Robin and Ted were going to be a couple, I so badly wanted to throw the laptop on the floor. And strangle myself for not having the patience to wait until I can watch it. When I saw the episode last night, I KIND OF understood it a bit better, but it was still like they punched me in the face. I loved Barney and Robin as a couple D: I read the following, which helped me understand a little better what made the producers do this: www.hitfix.com/whats-alan-watching/serie…-conned-us-all/ The only thing that seemed to work out in the end were Marshall and Lily, but I guess even the producers knew it would be too heartless to pull them apart.
Another thing that was pretty annoying was that it jumped so many years in between, it seemed like we weren’t supposed to get used to Tracy and Ted as a couple so we don’t miss her too bad. And, boy, Robin and Lily aged when you see the flashbacks to the first seasons… Anyway, I don’t think that Ted and Robin would have a good relationship, because they are (or used to be) so different, and you don’t know them enough in s9 to say if they’re good. You get kind of manipulated to almost want Barney and Robin to get divorced, but I still it was not a good choice.
The worst, and what I thought in some way almost absurd part, was Barney. COME ON!!! I haven’t got any words! Number 31 has no appearance AT ALL but little Ellie is, of course, the love of his life.
I know this isn’t a film review but it’s strictly speaking a series review, so I’m cool 😉

Did you see the finale? Did you like it or hate it?

One thought on “How I Ruined 9 Beautiful Seasons

Leave a Reply

