22 Jump Street

I think that for once (eh, twice), there aren’t any spoilers.

22js

22 Jump Street  (2014)

Main plot: After leaving high school (for the second time), Schmidt and Jenko get transferred to 22 Jump Street and are sent to college, where they have to go undercover again. Once more, they have to split up.

Main cast: Channing Tatum (Jenko); Jonah Hill (Schmidt); Ice Cube (Captain Dickson)

Review: As I mentioned in my review of 21 Jump Street, I actually didn’t intend to go see this movie, but I got persuaded. And I was not disappointed. When I saw that it actually gets a better rating, I still wasn’t convinced, but I was very positively surprised. The plot was pretty much the same, but for me, the major difference was, that it was not as predictable. When it turned out, who the dealer was, the film took quite a twist. In my opinion, they played out the ‘relationship’ thing a bit too much though. Tatum and Hill went very smoothly with each other, but I didn’t think the Schmidt /Maya relationship was as believable. (In this case I preferred Schmidt with Molly in part 1.)
It was quite funny, and in contrast to many other movies, I found myself laughing out loud once or twice.
Right, if there are any How I Met Your Mother- fans reading this, you might know the actress who plays Maya (Amber Stevens) as Janet McIntyre (although she just reminded me of Beyoncé until I checked.)
So all in all, a very enjoyable comedy for both people who’ve seen 21 Jump Street but also for those who haven’t.

What I love about this film: That it wasn’t as predictable as the prequel and it was probably as good as a sequel goes.

My rating: 8.5/10

Did you see/like 22 Jump Street?

One thought on “22 Jump Street

  1. I thought this movie sucked. Yes, it recycles the plot from “21” and it’s supposed to be clever because it’s making fun of the fact that it’s a pointless, unnecessary sequel. Just because it does so, however, doesn’t mean it’s not a pointless, unnecessary sequel. Like “Anchorman 2” the second iteration of Jump Street was filled with mindless, infantile humor. Some of it, like the scene joking about prison rape, was downright disturbing and completely out of place.

    I’d give it 1/10 stars.

Leave a Reply

